Help Wanted. . .


I need your help.  I’ve been feeling under the weather lately so I’m taking today off.  It’s up to you to finish this cartoon.  Send in a comment with what you want me to put in the word bubbles for each candidate.

The winner gets to buy me a drink when I feel better!

debate.jpg

Update: A reader suggested that for them it worked better if the cartoon was flipped.  Here is the flipped image they sent me.

dbt2

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

40 Comments on “Help Wanted. . .”

  1. Mike Says:

    Larry: Come on Rene, if you don’t bring up our racist letter to Warren Newell I won’t bring up the dolphins.
    Rene: What dolphins?

  2. Karri Says:

    Larry: My oponent here is anti-birds, a Bird Supremist and a predudiced Birdist.

    Rene: For Goodness Sakes Larry, it’s Dolphins, not Birds! Get it right.

  3. pietro Says:

    Tom,

    When do you intend to pull the winner from the hat of submissions. Is there a deadline?

  4. VanishingInk Says:

    Rene: “Every pack of hot dogs that you buy means an innocent cow gets killed.”

    Larry: “Don’t listen to him! He’s a vegetarian!”

  5. Karma Says:

    (flip the picture)

    Laurence: My opponent is linked to the capture and exploitation of wild dolphins.

    Rene: My opponent is linked to Cara.

  6. tomspage Says:

    Very loose rules here:

    Winner is solely at my discretion, and I’ll say that it will run until 12 noon Thursday the 12th.

  7. tomspage Says:

    I forgot to add. Please feel free to submit more than one caption if you wish!

  8. pietro Says:

    for the web designer in all of us:

    Rene: Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit, sed diam nonummy nibh euismod tincidunt ut laoreet dolore magna aliquam erat volutpat.

    Laurence: Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit, sed diam nonummy nibh euismod tincidunt ut laoreet dolore magna aliquam erat volutpat.

  9. Dale Says:

    Rene: My vision for the future is a beautifully artistic non-bid Singer rendering of a proposed Beach Acquarium.

    Larry: My extensive visiting of California Acquariums–where all progressive dolphins are housed–suggests a compromise—we will install a lap pool for dolhins so that they don’t have to always swim in circles.

  10. pietro Says:

    to the melody of, ahem, MacNamara’s Band:

    Rene: Oh my name’s Vanilla Varela, Lake Worth is my stepping stone. I’ve no experience or record, but my campaign coffers keep growin’.

    Laurence: Oh, me name is McNamara, I’ve saved your charter, and beaches sand. I’ve only local aspirations, I’ll swear the oath and raise my hand.

  11. Patricia Says:

    Rene’-Larry! you don’t need these notes, just read Dee’s lips.

    Larry-But Dee is my strength and I need her words to save Lake Worth from the cockroaches and the little Brown people.

  12. Patricia Says:

    I hope this wins

  13. The Dubai 28 Says:

    Rene: Of course I love dolphins….that’s why I only sell them to extremely wealthy resorts.

    Laurence: Thanks Rene, kiss my blowhole!

  14. Guest Says:

    flip version….

    Larry, “Hot Dog! Rene had to bring his notes”!!

    Rene, “This is my middle finger Larry!!”

  15. kalinka Says:

    oh my, perhaps we are going to have winner and runner up in here. The competition is stiff.

  16. Lynn Says:

    Rene: I want to make it perfectly clear, I have never taken one penny for shipping dolphins to Dubai.

    Laurence: Stop being such a hotdog

    • Mike Says:

      Rene: The Palm Beach Post endorsed me!
      Larry: The Palm Beach Post ALSO endorsed Jennings and Golden. Besides Lynn says I’m the best candidate and Ms. Congeniality’s never wrong.

  17. Guest Says:

    Do you feel better yet Tom???

  18. tomspage Says:

    Lots of computer issues today!

  19. thomas stockmann Says:

    Rene: Since I have no record let me tell you what I’ve said about myself. “No one is more qualified to run this city than [me] Rene Varela.”
    Also, roughly eight weeks before breaking my first pledge to the community I pledged, “I have no longstanding ambition for this commission. I have only been living in this town for ten months and so I don’t know very much.”

    Laurence: Lake Worth doesn’t need a hit and run mayor. Lake Worth doesn’t need to be used like a stepping stone while you line your pockets for future political ambition and personal gain. Lake Wo-…Whoa! I recognize that gesture, you’re this guy in drag!

    Note: Click Here To View Artwork

    Varela quote #1: Campaign literature
    Varela quote #2:

  20. Karma Says:

    Laurence: Dr. Varela made money off wild dolphins….is that what we can expect of Mayor Varela?

    Rene: Actually I lost money on that deal…..and that is exactly what you can expect of me as mayor….Hah!

  21. Cathy Says:

    Laurence: Hey Rene – after this debate, let’s run over to Nature’s Way Cafe and grab a bite to eat.

    Rene: Laurence – have you been living under a compost pile? Nature’s Way has been run out of town by your supporters led by Cara Jennings! (And it was enlightening to hear her say her only regret was that she told Gary Dario who she was when she called and threatened him……..)

    • Mary Lindsey Says:

      Hey Tom, I know you are going to determine the winner, but if there were a poll for the best bubble writer, I’d vote for this one from Cathy.

  22. bull Says:

    No way – that one’s not a winner!

  23. thomas stockmann Says:

    Rene: Since I have no record let me tell you what I’ve told myself over and over, “No one is more qualified to run this city than [me] Rene Varela.” And just to clear the air, before breaking my first pledge to the community I pledged, “I have no longstanding ambition for this commission. I have only been living in this town for ten months and so I don’t know very much.”

    Laurence: That’s like clearing the air with smoke. The smoke of political ambition and personal gain. Lake Worth doesn’t need a hit and run mayor using us as a stepping stone. Lake Wo-…Whoa! I recognize that gang sign, Lake Worth is fed up with that master plan.

  24. thomas stockmann Says:

    Rene: Since I have no record let me tell you what I’ve told myself in the mirror over and over, “No one is more qualified to run this city than [me] Rene Varela.” And just to clear the air, electing [me] Rene Varela as your alcalde will be a big step forward for [me] Rene Varela. It will allow [me] Rene Varela to finally establish a record for [me] Rene Varela.

    Laurence: Now we know what that second moving van held: your political ambition. Lake Worth is already energized around a positive, transformative political vision. Varela as mayor will be two giant steps back for the city. We’ve seen that unkind gesture before…

  25. tomspage Says:

    In the name of fairness I have engaged the help of a anonymous celebrity judge to pick the winner.

    It’s out of my hands!

  26. tomspage Says:

    We are going to close entries at 5:00 PM today.

  27. pietro Says:

    “aaahwooguh, aaahwooguh. Dive, dive. Captain to the con. Chief, give me all ahead one third at periscope depth”

    That klaxon sounds alot like the diminishing credibility alert sounding. I’m just saying that’s an unusual announcement to be making 58′ after the deadline has already passed. Kind of like reconvening a meeting after the opposition has gone home. Got ethics?

  28. tomspage Says:

    The idea for this “contest” is lighthearted and I don’t think anyone is going to mind, plus I wanted to give anybody who wanted to the chance to get one in.

    More importantly I want to give my guest judge ample time to make their choices.

    If my credibility is judged by the way I run a little fun contest on my blog, then I am indeed doomed!

    Ok gotta run now I have a secret meeting to attend!

  29. pietro Says:

    That is all, in its entirety, just so much pure crap.

    Yes, its your blog; and if we offer a reasonable level of incredulity when you change the rules of the game you set, not just in midstream, but after the fact, then yes, you can take your bat, ball and blog and “cry woe is me” all the way home.

    I stand by: Got ethics? It is ironic, indeed.

    Ok, gotta run, now. I have a super double secret counter meeting to attend! 😉 (grab a beer later?)

  30. thomas stockmannn Says:

    Rene: Wow. The lights. The podium. The media, the microphones. I feel like Nixon.

    Laurence: I feel like Kennedy.

  31. Patricia Says:

    Rene’- Larry,”What is the experienced and effective executive experience in your background?

    Larry- “What do you call a bar tender and restaruant waiter and handy man?

  32. Patricia Says:

    Rene’-Lary do you have a problem with seeking higher political office after taking care of Lake Worth?

    Larry-Yes, because I love lake Worth and want to serve the city forever.

  33. Guest Says:

    Laurence: Lyrics from the Beatles song ‘We can work it out”
    Try to see it my way.
    Do I have to keep on talking till I can’t go on?

    While you see it your way run the risk of knowing that our (city) may soon be gone
    We can work it out
    We can work it out.

    Think of what you’re saying
    You can get it wrong
    and still You think that it’s all right

    Think of what I’m saying
    We can work it out and Get it straight
    or say good night
    We can work it out
    We can work it out

    Life is very short and there’s no time
    for fussing and fighting, my (neighbor)

    I have always thought
    that it’s a crime s
    o I will ask you once again

    Try to see it my way
    only time will tell
    if I am right or I am wrong

    We can work it out
    We can work it out.

    Rene: Lyrics from the Beatles song ‘Yesterday’
    Yesterday, all my troubles
    seemed so far away
    Now it looks as thought
    they’re here to stay
    Oh, I believe in yesterday

    Suddenly I’m not half the man I used to be
    There’s a shadow hanging over me
    Oh, yesterday came suddenly

    Yesterday (votes) were such an easy game to play
    Now I need a place to hide away
    Oh, I believe in yesterday

  34. tomspage Says:

    Great Stuff! All of it! Submissions will close at 5PM. The winner(s) will be announced bright and early tomorrow morning.

    Tom


Leave a Reply

